Problems Not Solved Over Night

I had already planned to golf with Mary today so after my meltdown, I  knew there wasn’t time to address my skulling and mishits and that chances were I’d have another bad round.  There is always the outside possibility that I’ll just go out and hit well  but, alas, that didn’t happen.  I skulled, toed, topped and mishit my share today.  I had another OB penalty and was happy to shoot double bogeys.  Peppered here and there between all the lousy iron and wood shots were some good ones too, especially middle and short irons.  I managed to get at least one good one per hole and that saved me from a really disastrous round.  I three putted twice and the rest of the holes were two putts.

I couldn’t even zero in on one go to club today.  I hit them all bad at least once but I’d have to say my short irons were still consistent and my five saved my butt more than once.  My tee shots were the worst.  I was hitting better off of tall grass in the rough than I was off the tee.  Obviously something is wrong and I need to fix it.

Back to the drawing board.  I may have to just break down and take a lesson.  I have never had a formal lesson before.  I learned from an excellent golfer who played many, many rounds with me and taught me everything I know.  That was a long time ago though and I think I’ve forgotten all the good stuff I learned back then.  I need an instructor to watch me play.

It is so humiliating to top or skull a shot.  Humiliating and demoralizing.  I hit some so ugly today that they just went left off the tee twenty-five yards or so.  Those were my severely topped shots.  An alien was swinging the club I think.  I don’t know that woman.

Is it my focus?  Honestly at this point, I don’t know.  I believe I am setting the ball up the same each time.  I do have an attention disorder so it is possible that I get distracted a lot somewhere between my backswing and impact.  I can’t rule anything out.  I barely hung onto the disastrous nine-hole round with a 52.  The only good news I can report is that I only triple bogeyed one hole on shots actually hit.  I did triple bogey the OB hole but of course, two of those strokes did nothing to get me toward the cup.  I bogeyed one hole and the rest were doubles.

I held it together emotionally in front of Mary but after I got all my gear into the trunk and shut the door, after Mary drove off in her little golf cart, I cried quite a lot.  I pleaded to the golf gods that all I want is to be a better golfer, to hit decent shots consistently.  Of course everyone hits a bad shot now and then but lately, I’m hitting them often.  All this golf I’ve been playing has not resulted in better shots or scores.  I am reading tips, watching videos, analyzing my swing, doing all the things that are supposed to help.

So what now?

I don’t know  yet.  I’m going to force myself to take a few days off of golf.

-Jillian

Leave a Reply

