18 Away

I’ve been playing the rear tees a lot lately and I finally did the calculations necessary for posting scores.  I add a number and decimal to the course rating and a whole number to the slope – depending on if I play white or blue.

Pretty complicated.  I wish they’d just rate all the tees for men and women.  I have recently noticed that a lot of courses have all their colored tees rated for men and women.  I am going to talk to the powers that be about this.  I can’t be the only woman who wishes to post scores from the blues or whites.

Speaking of other courses, tomorrow is a big outing for four of us ladies from the club.  We are going across town to play 18 at a more difficult course – followed by lunch.  I will have to rent a cart for this, as it is required by the course.  I am normally a walker but I can be flexible.

I have no idea how I will perform on this course but playing the rear tees on my home course will have hopefully been a little bit of preparation, as this course is several hundred yards longer than what I am used to.

The thing I am hoping is that the course plays to my strength – which is length.  I’ve got the length off the tee and fairway.  I played the course years ago and remember it a little.  There is plenty of beach and water but I’m ready for it!  (Our clinic yesterday was all about bunker play – but I need lots of practice in bunkers to apply what I learned.)

To be honest, the thing that worries me most is that one of the four of us tends to be on the slow side, with many hits combined with chit chat, and on top of that, she panicks when people are pressing from behind.  This is one of the most popular public courses in town and I don’t want to suffer the humiliation of being moved up or passed so my fingers are crossed and I will try to be kind.

To my own detriment sometimes, I play faster than anyone I know – man or woman.  I walk fast, am ready for my shots, waggle a bit but don’t generally take practice swings.  I do take a little more time when putting, however.

Anyway, I’m very excited for this golf outing.  Wish me luck!

~Jillian

2 thoughts on “18 Away

  1. Good luck, sounds like it’s gonna be a lot of fun! How about making sure the slow coach rides on your buggy and then you’ll have a bit more control over her pace, and it might not drive you as mad!
    Have fun 😀⛳️

    Like

    1. I think we will have to have a pow wow before teeing off. I will very kindly mention the time factor. Three out of the four of us are speedy, so somehow I know it will all work out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

